Ten Who Are Ten Awards 

May 21, 2009 - JW Marriott Hotel, Washington, DC

Bookmark and Share

Ten Who Are Ten Award Winners

On Monday, May 21, 2009, ten achieving 10-year-old DCPS students were honored before an audience of over 200. 

Chancellor Rhee

Chancellor Michelle Rhee presented each of the ten awardees with a $2,500 scholarship grant to be forwarded to the college or university of his or her choice upon graduation from high school.

  Secretary Duncan

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan addressed the audience and presented commemorative plaques to the 10 awardees, with the expectation of $2,500 scholarship grants upon entering college seven or eight years from now.

Young Girl   Young Boy
Young Boy   Young Boy
Young Girl   Maudine Cooper of Greater Washington Urban League President

Maudine Cooper, president of the Greater Washington Urban League and co-host of the 10 Who Are 10 Awards Luncheon, presented the top vote-getter in this year's awards competition with a complimentary stay at the Urban League's summer camp.

Jackie Eyl of Washington's famed Spy Museum

Jackie Eyl of Washington's famed Spy Museum announced that every 10 Who Are 10 awardee is invited to partake (with an adult) in OPERATION SECRET SLUMBER, a complimentary overnight at the Museum.

  Philanthropist Earl Stafford

The noted philanthropist Earl W. Stafford spoke to the students. (In January 2009, Mr. Stafford set aside $2 million for 300 rooms at three nights each, together with transportation and an array of amenities, on behalf of disadvantaged guests from around the country to take part in "the people's inauguration" of Barack Obama).

Dr. Roscoe Brown Jr., Chairman of the Advisory Committee for the 10 Who Are 10 Foundation

Dr. Roscoe C. Brown, Jr., Chairman of the Advisory Committee for the 10 Who are 10 Foundation, gave a rousing speech to the students, parents and grandparents. Dr. Brown was the Squadron Commander of the Tuskegee Airmen during WWII.

  The Myrtilla Miner Glee Club performed an original composition

The Myrtilla Miner Glee Club gave a foot-stomping, inspirational rendition of an original composition, GREENER IS CLEANER at the ceremonies. Nicole Moore, a fifth grade teacher, wrote the original lyrics. Martin Ford was the music director and composer. LaVonne Taliaferro-Bunch is the principal of Miner Elementary School.


Inside DCPS Highlights.


DC.Gov Home Page              Best Of The Web Award

© 2011 District of Columbia Public Schools, 1200 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002, (202) 442-5885