How to Apply to CTE Programs 

Bookmark and Share

Most public high schools in the district offer at least one career cluster, and many offer multiple clusters. When choosing your classes, select the cluster and program of study in which you are most interested. If you discover a cluster and courses at another high school that match your talents, interests and goals better, however, it may be possible for you to transfer there. 

For information about transferring to a high school download the Guide to High School Options ยป

Out-of-Boundary Schools

If your neighborhood high school does not offer the CTE program you would like to take, you can enroll at a different DCPS school through the Out-of-Boundary Lottery if space is available. The lottery application period is January 28 to February 28 for the following school year. You can also still enroll if the school did not fill all its available seats through the lottery. Students are admitted on a first-come, first-served basis as long as spaces remain open.

Specialized Citywide Schools

DCPS citywide high schools are open by application to all students across the district. Students may apply to the specialized citywide schools by submitting the DCPS High School Online Application, which allows students to submit information required by all schools only once.  

The following specialized citywide schools use the DCPS High School Online Application:

  • Benjamin Banneker High School
  • Columbia Heights Education Campus
  • Ellington School of the Arts
  • Luke C. Moore High School
  • McKinley Technology High School
  • Phelps Architecture, Construction and Engineering High School
  • School Without Walls High School

Schools To Aid Youth (STAY)

STAY high school programs serve DC young adult and adult populations. The programs operate in the afternoon and evening hours and are separate schools from the day programs with which they share a building. STAY programs provide educational opportunities for returning students, who were unsuccessful in day programs and those who seek to further their basic and technical skills. STAY schools offer five types of programs, including traditional academic learning programs, national external diploma programs, CTE programs, GED preparatory programs and English language learner programs.

  • Ballou STAY High School
  • Spingarn STAY High School
  • Roosevelt STAY High School

Inside DCPS Highlights.


DC.Gov Home Page              Best Of The Web Award

© 2011 District of Columbia Public Schools, 1200 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002, (202) 442-5885