Athletics


 

DCPS is committed to the development of the entire student, both academically and athletically. We encourage participation and help student-athletes develop according to their individual interests and abilities.

About Us

The District of Columbia Public Schools Department of Athletics oversees all athletics for grades 4-12. DCPS students play within the District of Columbia Interscholastic Athletic Association, D.C.I.A.A. The office is responsible for verifying eligibility, scheduling of events, scheduling of transportation, and coordination of officials.

Additionally, our Director of Athletics serves as the Executive Director representing the District of Columbia as a member of the National Federation of High Schools. In this capacity responsibilities include, but are not limited to, the sanctioning of all high schools in the District of Columbia.

Mission

The D.C.I.A.A. provides a wide variety of opportunities for students to participate in activities that:

  • promote growth and development;
  • teach social, recreational, and leadership skills;
  • develop the qualities of good citizenship and sportsmanship;
  • allow students to prosper in a strong educational environment.

Our goals are to provide:

  • A comprehensive athletic program for student-athletes in grades 4-12
  • Appropriate game officials and security
  • Athletic health care services for all participating students and schools
  • Proper and safe athletic equipment and supplies for schools
  • Sport clinics for student-athletes and coaches to refine their skills and techniques
  • Safe transportation for all participants

Contacts


Director of Athletics Ms. Stephanie Evans 202-729-3289 Stephanie.Evans@dc.gov
Assistant Director Mr. Mark Crutchfield 202-729-3798 Mark.Crutchfield@dc.gov
Assistant Athletic Director Mr. Willie Bennett 202-729-3799 Willie.Bennett2@dc.gov
Assistant Athletic Director Mr. Torrance Hill 202-671-3026 Torrance.Hill@dc.gov
Lead Athletic Trainer Ms. Jamila Watson 2202-671-3008 Jamila.Watson@dc.gov
Administrative Assistant Mrs. LaTreece Brown 202-729-4379 Latreece.Brown@dc.gov

 

Find out more information about DCPS Athletics:

Inside DCPS Highlights.


           

DC.Gov Home Page              Best Of The Web Award

© 2011 District of Columbia Public Schools, 1200 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002, (202) 442-5885