Print this page

Mayor Vincent C. Gray Honors Little League Champions Representing District in Playoffs

Media Contacts


(WASHINGTON, DC) — Today, Mayor Vincent C. Gray honored the Northwest Little League All Stars, who will be representing the District of Columbia at the Little League World Series Mid-Atlantic/New England regional playoffs Aug. 4-15 in Bristol, Conn.
The Northwest team is composed of Little League players from across the District. They beat Capitol City in a thrilling late-inning surge to take the District’s Little League title.
“The District of Columbia is very proud of these fine young athletes, and today we offer them the full support of the people of the District as they travel to Connecticut to play for the chance to go on to the Little League World Series,” Mayor Gray said. “As both a baseball fan and a public servant, I am deeply appreciative of the benefits that Little League baseball provides to children and families in our community. Baseball builds character”
Mayor Gray presented the Northwest Little League All Stars with a Certificate of Achievement. The team’s coaches are Matt Donnellan and Jim Plantholt, and its manager is Andy Seto. The league president is Paul Donnellan. The players are George Anninos, Jack Bailey, Matthew Dulaney, Henry Furlong, Spenser Hyun, Owen Isaacs, Sydney Love-Baker, Ty Love-Baker, Ethan Roth, Ben Schwartz, Alex Snape, Luke Wallis and Max Whisnant.